Has Lil Wayne Fell Off?

 

Whether Lil’ Wayne fell off or not is obviously an opinion, but the fact remains that he has kept his name in the game for a couple decades now.  He’s been consistently dropping verses in features when he isn’t dropping Mixtapes, or when Birdman isn’t holding his album hostage ( Wayne Suing Label for $51 million dollars )

1499448813_f645bdea04350a905e3bc4bce3dd82bc

I’ve heard a variety of opinions on Lil’ Wayne, from “He fell off” to ” I like his mixtapes better”.

In my opinion, Wayne has gone through many phases during his music career, when it comes to the type of music he makes.  I prefer the type of Lil’ Wayne that makes meaningful, introspective, positive, songs  like “Tie My Hands”, which was dedicated to the New Orleans’ Flood Victims (Which is his hometown)

… and even sometimes I’m in the mood for  the type of Wayne that makes a “F**k you, I made it, and I’ll throw it in your face” type of music, like A Milli.

What I’ve noticed about Wayne’s music is, no matter what he’s talking about in his music, he always does a good job of creating a “theater of the mind” for the listener, and I can appreciate that.  He also always has very witty puns in his punchlines, that even I, as attentive as I am to lyrics, miss the first time. He always has a few double entendres in his music and sometimes even triple entendres. (See examples below)

“Real G’s move in silence like lasange”

or

“That’s my M.O., add a B to that shit”

  • M.O. = Modus operendi, the way he does things
  • M.O.B. = his mob (Young Money crew)
  • B could mean his blood crew also
  • Money Over Bitches, his motto that he lives by

What is your opinion on Lil Wayne? Take the survey below

Your Opinion on Wayne?

Leave a Reply

